From BBQs to Glow Sticks (And Everything In-Between)

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.24.45 pm

The much anticipated class chalet is over and I can’t decide if it was exactly what I expected it to be or if it was better than I expected. So, here I go reflecting on the 3D2N experience.

Pre-chalet, the only planning me and Minyi had to do was to finalise the date and choice of the chalet as well as to order the food for the barbecue. Although it doesn’t seem like much, we did have to accommodate to as many people’s schedules and preferences as possible, so I would say it wasn’t as easy as you think. Then we couldn’t decide if to organise and plan activities. Minyi was all up for it but I felt like not everyone would participate if we did and then it would have been a wasted effort. So, I tried convincing her that it should just be a chalet for us to hangout and chill. Let people find their own way of entertaining themselves, right?

Leading up to the chalet, the people around me were excited and we always talked about what we should do at the chalet. The chalet this year was six to eight times bigger than the chalet last year. And of course, this time we also had a barbecue planned. Those were just some simple reasons as to why I was excited and looking forward to it.

So when the day came, about 11 of us met up at Pasir Ris MRT and made our way to the chalet together by bus. We got off at the wrong stop and had to walk a little thanks to Huszainy. Then we waited outside the reception since we couldn’t check in earlier than the allocated time. I had wanted to arrive earlier so we could explore the place but there wasn’t exactly any place around to explore. After like 20-30 minutes of waiting, we were given our keys and briefed on the do’s and don’ts before we made our way to the chalet.

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.07.12 pm

As we waited for the bus, I attempted a group selfie but… I evidently failed to capture everyone.

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.39.00 pm

A bus just for us! … And other commuters. (Credit: Shafna)

Jamie and I had planned to run into the house and start screaming and cheering like they do on Top Model but we had some trouble opening the main door so that killed our momentum. Regardless, when we entered we had a good look around and I think some of us started claiming our rooms. There were four rooms in total and I knew that I wasn’t exactly planning on sleeping so I didn’t actually care too much to claim a room. I must mention that Minyi and Nica decided that it would be the smartest thing to do by screaming when entering a room because something had moved. The same thing happened when the door was about to close behind them. Gosh… Well, you can thank the wind for that.

Everyone then sat down in the living room. Sam provided us with some entertainment by connecting her laptop to the TV in the living room. We watched some music videos (including Nicki Minaj’s ‘Anaconda’ which in my opinion, became the theme song of the chalet). As more people arrived at the chalet, the living room became more lively. Then someone suggested going on Omegle and so we did. Chelsea and I started chatting with random strangers until we got banned for some reason. Oh well…

Chilling in the living room. (Credit: Shafna)

For quite some time, there was no food and drinks around. I felt like it was my fault and because of poor planning but I was comforted with the realisation that everyone was old enough to take care of themselves. In addition, one of our lecturers was supposed to be arriving soon with a car full of snacks and drinks. When the first two lecturers arrived, some of us helped transfer the snacks and drinks from the car to the kitchen. And #damn there was loads of snacks and drinks. From cup noodles to biscuits to Pringles and nachos and plenty of drinks too.

A little while later the barbecue food arrived and it was time to start the fire. Minyi and Huszainy were the main ones working on the fire with the support of a lot of people as the others tried fanning the fire in hopes of keeping the fire going (I think). And as time passed, it was nice to see people taking turns to fan the fire and to barbecue the food. On the other hand, I didn’t want to get involved with that since I really had no experience. So, I helped play some music alongside Dalene, Jesleen and Nica on Vera’s speakers. After everyone was fed, some played ‘mind games’ with the lectures while the rest of us were chilling at the dining table. We pretended to be judges on Top Model auditioning potential models. HAHA.

Almost everyone took turns helping out with the barbecue. #Teamwork. (Credit: Shafna)

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.34.44 pm

Looks pretty good, doesn’t it? (Credit: Shafna)

As time passed, those who weren’t staying overnight left and then I retreated to one of the rooms with some people. Before we started a game of Truth or Truth, we all took turns showering since everyone else was at the dining table playing games or in the living room watching shows on the TV, courtesy of Sam’s laptop.

The girls tried styling my wet hair and said I look better with my hair slicked back... Meh.

The girls tried styling my wet hair and said I look better with my hair slicked back but I’m not too sure about that.

Before we started Truth or Truth, we decided to use some glow sticks that I brought. (My brother had passed them to me and it was not like they were going to be of any use to me at home, so I decided to bring them to the chalet.) The game lasted for a really really long time until people got tired and some decided to go to sleep.

For a long time, this is all you could see in our room.

For a long time, this is all you could see in our room.

Me and Chelsea tried to sleep on the floor since all the beds were occupied. But she got up and left without saying anything and I followed soon after. But I’m glad I did because Chelsea, Shantel, Sam and Wesley were chilling in the living room watching some show. Belicia and Jessica were there but they fell asleep shortly after I joined them. After whatever they were watching ended, Sam introduced us to a show called, Faking It and it was really good! Whoever is reading this should look it up if you don’t know what it’s about. Thanks for the intro, Sam!

faking-it-2

For some reason, I’m adding this picture hoping it will make you want to check it out.

After that, some people decided to go watch the sunrise. I’ve never actually tried to watch the sunrise so I decided to tag along. Plus, if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have had anything else to do since everyone else was asleep. The sunrise was pretty but it took a long while to rise and a long walk to get to where we decided to watch it rise. I was impatient and kinda lazy so…

I didn't stay to watch the sun rise any further than this. #Impatient

I didn’t stay to watch the sun rise any further than this. #Impatient

But here's a stolen picture from someone who did stay to watch it rise. (Credit: Eunice)

But here’s a stolen picture from someone who decided to stay to watch the sun rise. (Credit: Eunice)

When we got back to the chalet, Chelsea and I wanted to have some beer in the morning… Root beer that is! And I asked anyone who walked past if they wanted to join us in having some beer before telling them that I was referring to root beer. HAHA. Colin and Jamie then woke up and joined us in the kitchen where Chelsea and I were hanging out. We had dragged in two chairs and positioned ourselves directly in front of the fan. As we were sitting around, I suggested we play competitive rounds of Heads Up! against each other. And it was really back and forth but obviously I’m going to say that Chelsea and I crushed Colin and Jamie. Like duh.

At around nine or ten in the morning, Shafna and Minyi arrived. While some people were thinking of heading out for breakfast, the two of them started the “Cup Noodles For Breakfast” movement and they were joined by another six to eight people including me. After that, we headed up to a room to play charades. I was extremely competitive… I couldn’t help myself. But we strangely didn’t establish a winning team at the end of it.

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.40.55 pm

Only Alicia can make eating cup noodles look so glamorous. I don’t even know if I’m being sarcastic. (Credit: Shafna)

As afternoon approached, more people had left and we were down by quite a number of people. Everyone gathered in the living room where we played musical chairs. I was eliminated early both times I participated… I think. After that, we agreed on barbecue-ing the leftovers from yesterday. As more food was added to the dining table it became official that we were having a family lunch together. So everyone pitched in and helped in some way. Either to clean up, to microwave or to barbecue. It was nice.

I’m not used to having meals with my family so this was really nice. (Credit: Minyi)

I'm not used to having meals with my family so this was really nice.

A selfie with all of us at the dining table from a different angle. (Credit: Huszainy)

After that, Jamie, Chelsea and I decided to take a two hour nap so that we could stay up longer, later that night. And I feel proud to say that I hadn’t slept in over 24 hours. That’s a first. When I woke up, someone had called for a meeting in one of the rooms to discuss dinner plans. Whether to head out and have dinner or to have food delivered to us. Everyone agreed on McDonald’s. I was telling myself not to have dinner after having both breakfast and lunch as I was feeling extremely bloated. But I caved in to peer pressure.

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.24.58 pm

Vera, Huszainy, Shafna and I being silly after discussing our dinner plans. Felt like a #RichKids moment.

Let's be shady together.

Let’s be shady together.

Everyone had dinner together at the dining table once again. After which I felt even more bloated. I decided to walk around and ended up climbing up and down the stairs ten times. It didn’t really help but at least I tried. Later, we all gathered in one of the rooms for another session of talking into the late night. There were ghost stories and then we digressed into our favourite memories from the past semester. Eventually everyone got restless and we were just started lazing around. We spent some time playing Icomania on Jamie’s phone, searching for answers on Google when we had no clue.

That night, we were down to nine people which meant enough beds for everyone! I roomed with Huszainy and Alicia. While Huszainy was away, I decided to annoy Alicia to the best of my ability. I read out her Instagram captions with a certain accent and made her cringe every time. It was hilarious. I’m referring to her reaction but yes her captions were hilarious too. But we eventually fell asleep.

The next day, we woke up two hours before check-out time to clean up but we were left with a lot of spare time. So, we watched those advertisements where they promote a product and ask you to call in to buy the product. I really can’t remember what the term for it is. We made fun of how scripted the ads were and at the same time we were annoyed by how repetitive the ads were. However, we didn’t have anything else to watch.

Eventually, the people came to inspect the chalet and we found out that a teaspoon and a chopstick were missing. In the end, we weren’t charged for the loss either so it was all cool. We all then made our way home and split up accordingly.

Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 11.08.22 pm

As far as I’m concerned, If this was a reality show, the three of us would be the ‘Final Three’.

I didn’t think I would have so much to write about but clearly a lot happened over the three days and two nights and I honestly have no regrets. There isn’t exactly anything I would change. Yes, I know some of you know that I wanted to change something but I just really don’t care about it anymore. Everything happened the way it should and I enjoyed the chalet. Until next time, PEACE OUT.

Leave a comment