Fast & Furious 6 Review

Image

A few things before starting the review. There will be NO SPOILERS in this review and I’ll be writing this review in the view point of someone who hasn’t watched the first five movies in the series.

Not being a huge fan of action movies, I wasn’t really excited to watch this movie. The fact that I haven’t watched the first five movies didn’t make it any better. I didn’t even check out the trailer or look up the story or summary of the first few movies to be able to understand F&F6. But lucky for me, I was watching the movie with a friend who helped me clear my doubts while watching.(I was probably annoying him with the questions but hey… I needed to understand it right?)

The Plot: Considering it being the sixth instalment in the series, I guess it’s plot would have similar elements like the previous movies. Basically, from what I understand, the movie is about our “Hero”, Dominic Toretto(Vin Diesel) and his crew assisting security agent(Dwayne Johnson) in taking down the “Bad guy”, Owen Shaw(Luke Evans) and his crew cause of Owen’s evil plans which pose a threat to the security of the region.

The Characters: I have to say, I like the characters. I don’t know much about them(not much backstory in the 6th movie, SHOCKER) and at first I thought that there were way too many but then it’s actually just right. All the characters had their fair share of comedic moments. From sarcastic comments to sly insults, I was entertained by the comedy in this movie. Especially the moments with Roman(Tyrese Gibson). I love movies where the hero has a group of allies instead of movies where the the spotlight is only on the hero.(and usually his love interest)

The Cast:  I really like the cast too! Don’t have much to say for this section other than that I think the actors/actresses fit their roles perfectly. Oh and the fight scenes! LOVE them. Chase scenes? Not so much cause they seem a little draggy. But when you’re watching a movie called “Fast & Furious”, I kinda expected it. #HAHA

The End: It had a nice twist. Nothing huge but something that nobody would have expected cause it wasn’t really that important throughout the movie.(Or at least, I believe no one would have expected that) I don’t know why but I really like how they ended the movie with a post-credit scene from one of the earlier movies(Tokyo Drift) which is actually supposed to be after this movie chronologically. Something about that just amuses me. It makes me want to watch the next movie too.(Yes, they are not stopping at 6)

Would I watch the movie again?: #Hmm… I would watch the movie as part of a Fast & Furious marathon when I’m in the mood for action movies. I am curious to find out what happened in the earlier movies after all. So, yes.

My Rating: 6.5/10

*Bonus question*

Is it better to watch the other movies in this series before watching F&F6?: YES. Please do. You can just read up on everything. But with all the complicated terms, I rather just watch the movies. Watch em’ all, except for Tokyo Drift since it supposedly shows the events after F&F6.

I still think that they could have made a really successful TV series with the “Fast & Furious” concept instead of having 6 films.(and counting?) Hope they stop soon or it will just be too draggy. So, that’s all I have to say about this movie in this review. Hope I helped you make up your mind on whether this movie is worth watching.

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

