Despicable Me 2 Review

despicable-me-2-

I was pretty excited for to watch this movie! But I have to say it wasn’t as good as the first one. Sure, it had it’s adorable, cute & funny moments. But the story wise, I thought the first one was much better. So read below for the full review which does not contain any spoilers.

The Plot: Basically, ex-super villain, Gru gets recruited by The Anti Villain League to retrieve,Β Β PX-41, aΒ mutating chemical compound, which turns living things into indestructible killing machines. This chemical compound was stolen from a laboratory by a mysterious vehicle which has a giant magnet attached to it. So, Gru gets a partner, Lucy Wilde to assist him on the task. The cool thing is although the chemical compound is from a lab the setting moves to a shopping mall. Cause one of the tenants apparently have something to do with the stolen chemical compound.

The Cast: I had no idea Miranda Cosgrove & Russel Brand were voicing any of the characters. (Margo & Dr. Nefario, in case you were wondering) Like always, most of the cast voiced their characters really well and were perfect for their roles.

The Characters: Gru was funny. His three daughters were cute in their own ways. Although I agree that Agnes has her really adorable moments, my favourite would have to be Edith. Loved her tomboy-ish-ness. I have to say that I didn’t like Margo’s sub-story in this movie. It was unnecessary. The minions delivered in the comedy section as well. I guess that’s why the Minions are getting their own spin-off movie to be released December 19, next year. The new character introduced, Lucy Wilde, was… Alright. I didn’t really find anything to like about her but I don’t dislike her either. Another one of my favourite characters have to Dr. Nefario. Loved his accent and role in this movie.

The End: It was predictable to say the least. There wasn’t any twist in the plot or anything. But hey, it was still fun to watch. Sequel-wise, I’m pretty sure that Despicable Me 3 will be coming up in a few years and I can see how the story could continue.

My Rating: 6.5/10

I also want to add that one of my favourite moments from the movie is when Gru tells Agnes to “Never get older”. It got me thinking. And I can’t really describe how I felt seeing it but it was really memorable to me.

Have you watched the movie? If you haven’t, I think you should!

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

