Meaningful Tunes #2

So sometime last year, I stumbled upon this song and I’m so glad that I did. Back then, it was the song I listened to whenever I felt worried or stressed with all the pressure of the O’ Level Examinations and of course when going through the typical secondary school drama which when I look back at now seems very petty.

Today’s song is, “You Gotta Be” by Des’ree. Yes, it might be a 90’s song but it has very relatable lyrics which are accompanied by a very calm and soothing tune which helps you relax after a long and stressful day at school or work. After all, aren’t some of the best songs from the 90’s?Β It’s a song that gives you the strength to keep on going just when you feel like giving up. The type of song which is rare nowadays, in the time of break-up, love or party songs. I’m not saying that there aren’t any, I’m saying that they are rare. Cause they either have a meaningless rap(which seems rather forced into the song) or great but repetitive lyrics with a rough and edgy beat.(which makes me want to pull my hair out) I’m sure some people love that but we have to agree to disagree on that one.

“Listen as your day unfolds, challenge what the future holds
Try and keep your head up to the sky
Lovers, they may cause you tears
Go ahead release your fears, stand up and be counted
Don’t be ashamed to cry

You gotta be
You gotta be bad, you gotta be bold, you gotta be wiser
You gotta be hard, you gotta be tough, you gotta be stronger
You gotta be cool, you gotta be calm, you gotta stay together
All I know, all I know, love will save the day”

– Des’ree (You Gotta Be)

This large chunk of lyrics, pretty much explains why this song is empowering. It tells you to always keep your head up, stand up for yourself and to not be ashamed to cry. ‘Cause sometimes, you just have to release your emotions and what better way to do that than by crying, right? Now, before signing off, I just want to say that if you do like this song, you might want to check out some other songs by Des’ree like ‘Life’, ‘It’s Okay’ & ‘What’s Your Sign?’. Other than ‘You Gotta Be’, ‘It’s Okay’ has to be my other favourite by Des’ree. So, I hope that the next time you need some encouragement, this song will do just that for you.

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

