Stroll to the finish line

2013-lum_1x

Christmas is over and there’s less than 24 hours to new year’s. I’m not quite sure how I feel about 2014 approaching me rapidly. 2013 has been a great year for me. It was eventful with certain events being milestones (at least in my eyes).

I was able to say goodbye to the joke that was secondary school, with a handful of friends who I can truly call my friends. I may not see them often but when I do, it’s like no time has passed. In fact, I feel closer to them now then when we were in secondary school. I can’t begin to explain the fun we have when we meet. Relieving old memories while creating new ones in the process. I can’t ask for anything more from these people. I know that they’re always going to be there for me. #OldFriendsSameFun

While waiting for my polytechnic course to start, I got my first part-time job at a department store where I met some great people. It was a great experience but I don’t really think I would do it again. Not cause it was a bad experience but because it would mean having to make new friends and deal with customers. Those are two things that I feel like I’ve forgotten how to do. One more than the other. Now, months later, I am only in contact with two or three of those colleagues (that became friends) and it’s good to see them around on campus every now and then. #WorkIt

I entered my 2nd choice Polytechnic course and it’s been a blast (with a few table spoons of stress). I know how all the seniors say that the stress is more when we’re in year two and three, so I definitely am not complaining. After all, at least I’m doing what I’m interested in as opposed to plane geometry or chemistry practicals. I’m also in the process of getting to know my classmates better cause we always think we know someone and then we surprise ourselves. I’ve got a rough idea of who has got my back and it’s nice to know that there are at least two names on that list (hoping to add more over the next two years). #SignUpNow

Note: To be honest, these three periods are the main ones that I remember but I’m sure that there was a lot more that went on.

It’s because of these little things that happened this year that I’m reluctant to go through another 12 months. A lot can change and I’m happy with how things are, right now. Life is like a long marathon, each year being a different one and I don’t want to go through another one because I feel like I did well this year. However, there are some things that I do wish change, and if you want to know what those things are, then look out for my next post because I’ll be talking about my New Year’s Resolutions and explaining them too. You won’t have to wait long, I promise.

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

