The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Review

Image

Hi everyone!

I’m back for another movie review and this time, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. I hadn’t watched the trailer so I didn’t know what to expect. However, the promotional posters looked good and it starred Ben Stiller, so I assumed it would be a good movie. While watching the credits of the movie, I learned that Ben Stiller did not just play the role of Walter Mitty but he also had a hand in the direction and production of the movie (which I think is pretty cool).

So here is my review with NO SPOILERS.

The Story: Walter Mitty (Ben Stiller) works at LIFE magazine as their negative assets manager. He often daydreams of incredible adventures and perfect scenarios that he doesn’t execute in person. In other words, he ‘zones out’ a lot. He’s never encountered any problems throughout his 16-year work experience until one day, he loses the negative that Sean O’Connell, a photo journalist, had sent in for the final issue of the magazine. According to Sean, the picture captured what the magazine was all about. With his job at stake, he embarks on a journey to find Sean and the missing negative. Walter is also interested in his colleague, Cheryl Melhoff (Kristen Wiig) who he has barely gotten to know.

So, how does Walter locate Sean? Will he be able to find Sean in time or at all? Will he be able to develop a relationship with Cheryl? What is this special picture that represents the magazine perfectly? And will Walter be able to cope when his adventures in dreamland become a reality? It’s a great movie about self-discovery which also reminds us that what we’re looking for sometimes is right in front of us.

The Cast: Well everyone knows who Ben Stiller is. He stars in both the Meet the Parents & Night at the Museum film series, is the voice actor of Alex in the Madagascar series and has also starred in many other successful comedies. And Kristen Wiig was also a great addition to the movie (although I felt she could have played a funnier character with her being a comedian and all). However, I feel that she could have been replaced by other actresses too. They didn’t really require a comedian to play the role of Cheryl in my opinion. #NoHate but #JustSaying. Other than the two of them, I didn’t really know anyone else in the movie. However, Adam Scott who plays Walter’s boss was also familiar. So it wasn’t an all-star cast. But with most of the focus on Walter Mitty, Ben Stiller definitely delivered.

The Characters: Walter Mitty was such a cute and relatable character. His day dreams are hilarious but also relatable. We all wish we could say something to someone that pisses us off or we think about what it would be like if the person we had a crush had mutual feelings. Throughout the movie, he definitely grows and that’s another one of the factors that made the movie enjoyable. As for Cheryl Melhoff, I didn’t really feel for the character. There weren’t many other characters either. This would have been a problem in other movies because just following the adventures of one character would definitely make the movie stagnant. However, this time, the focus on Walter throughout the movie didn’t bore me. He was constantly going on different adventures and it was just nice to watch.

The End: I thought that the ending was nice as it wrapped up the movie nicely. But then it was rather unrealistic and inaccurate. I don’t see a sequel coming and I honestly hope there isn’t one. The movie is perfect the way it is although a particular mistake at the end is bothering me as I write this review. #Sigh

My Rating: 8.5/10

I think it deserves a 9 but I’m being a little selfish about giving it a higher rating because I don’t want the fact that it’s the latest movie I’ve watched to affect the rating. I am pretty pleased with the movie almost always a week or two after watching it. So just to give a more less biased view, I gave it a 8.5. There were LOVELY sceneries in this movie. It must have been a pain to location scout and film certain scenes but it was worth it. I really hope that this movie wins at least a few awards because it totally deserves it. If anyone is thinking about watching it, I strongly urge that you do. But the movie is pretty slow-moving so there’s my warning or disclaimer for those of you who prefer action movies.

Before I sign off, here’s a quote from the movie which also happens to be the motto of LIFE magazine.

“To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer,to find each other and to feel. That is the purpose of life.”

That’s all from me! Until next time,

PEACE OUT.

One thought on “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Review

  1. Pingback: Review: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013) – Ben Stiller (In Theatres) « Fast Film Judge

Leave a Reply

