Meaningful Tunes #3

I was looking up the trailer for this movie titled, ‘The Single Moms Club’. The trailer was great and closer to the end I heard this song which I immediately took a liking to. Thanks to Shazam, I was able to track the song down and it’s been on repeat ever since. Now, if you know me, you would know that I love feel-good songs that encourage you to keep on going on because that’s a message that you can never get tired of hearing.

So, today’s song is… ‘Just Do You’ by India.Arie. I’ve only heard one other song by her before this, which is, ‘Just For Today’. That is a great song which helped soothe me whenever my worrywart tendencies were at a all-time high back in secondary school. I think she took a more modern approach with this song. I love the chorus and the tune. It’s easy on the ear and is meaningful as well. The music video is kind of cool because of that giant blackboard on the brick wall that says, “I Am ____” which people fill in throughout the video. I would love to do something like that at the school foyer someday.

Image

I heard a voice that told me I’m essential
How all my fears are limiting my potential
Said it’s time to step into the light and
Use every bit of the power I have inside

So what’chu waiting on? Who you waiting for?
If you don’t take a chance, you’ll never know what’s in store.

– India.Arie (Just Do You)

Those are my favourite few lines and they are at the start of the song so I guess that’s why I instantly fell in love with the song. It just reminds me not to keeping waiting and making excuses because now might be the best time for me to do whatever I want to do. It also tells me to stop second guessing myself and to just take the plunge. Being the skeptic that I am, I could totally relate to the message that was being sent in this song. It is just like any other feel good song but for me, there’s just something special about this one. Before I end this post, I’d also recommend to you one of her other songs from her latest album, Songversation, titled, ‘Break The Shell’. That one would totally make me cry if I was feeling down. In other words, it’s really meaningful. Hope you enjoyed the song. Until next time,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

