#LetterByLetter: A

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 8.03.33 pm

If you have no clue what #LetterByLetter is, it’s just something that me and my classmates who blog are doing during the holidays. We will go down the alphabet, one for each post and write what each letter means to us. It can be something symbolic or just a word that starts with that letter. The objective is to be active on our blogs and also to see who can finish all the letters first. So let’s get started with the letter, ‘A’.

‘A’ is just the letter I think I am associated with because that’s the letter that both my surname and name start with. My full name is, A. ARAVIND. So, that makes my surname, ‘A’. Now, here’s a story that not many know. Back in kindergarten, there were two other Aravinds. To differentiate each other we used our surnames and to make it easier, just the first letter of our Fathers’ names was used. I can’t remember what the other two letters were but obviously mine was ‘A’.

I love my surname although people keep questioning and asking why it’s just one letter. I would first tell them that it stands for, ‘Awesome’. And then the second time around I would say, ‘Amazing’. But after awhile it would get boring for me and so I would just tell them it’s the first letter of my Father’s name and they would try guessing. But what they don’t realise is that they will never be able to guess it when the only clue they have is the first letter because there can be many variations to one Indian name. Up ’til this day, only two close friends from secondary school know what the ‘A’ actually stands for. And that’s cause I told them. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ashamed of it. I just think it’s irrelevant for people to know. And it’s an added bonus that I get to keep people guessing. It will probably be one of those things that will be revealed one day but until then, it just stands for Awesome. I have also enjoyed the benefits that come with having a surname that starts with an, ‘A’. Usually my name is the first on any list that is arranged alphabetically. So yes, I have been the first boy listed on the class list both in primary and secondary school. Although at times there is pressure when you have to go first (like for the English oral examination) but I’m pretty sure I’ve experienced more benefits than problems.

In other news, ‘A’ is also the main antagonist in the Pretty Little Liars series. So, it definitely means something to me since I’m a huge fan of the show although I haven’t read the books. And I’m proud to say I discovered the show on my own just by coming across the books in Popular, a few years back. Looking up the book and discovering the series is one of the best things that I’ve done, entertainment wise. I just thought that it deserved an honourable mention.

That’s it for the first #LetterByLetter. Looking forward to writing more,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

