#LetterByLetter: C

Image

#LetterByLetter is something that me and my classmates who blog are doing during the holidays. We will go down the alphabet, one for each post and write what each letter means to us. It can be something symbolic or just a word that starts with that letter. The objective is to be active on our blogs and also to see who can finish all the letters first. This is the third post in the series.

Since I’ve been gaining inspiration for these blogs from around me, ‘C’ is for CARDS.

And I’m actually referring to trading cards. I’m sure we’ve all played with trading cards growing up. The popular ones were Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh! But for me the one trading card game that I enjoyed playing was Raw Deal. Let’s be honest, you probably haven’t heard of it. It’s actually a wrestling card game. One that my brother introduced to me when I was in primary school. (We were both WWE fans.) We started off with the fake cards, not exactly knowing how to play the game and making up our own rules but my brother soon started playing the real thing. And on one of my birthdays, he got me a deck so I could play as well. This then escalated to us wasting our parents’ money on booster packs to improve our decks and the individual cards that we needed to complete our respective sets. Now, a couple of things to note. Since there were tons of wrestlers, we were collecting a couple of sets each. So, we bought quite a number of booster packs and spent even up to $10-$20 on an individual card. They would also release new sets of cards for the newer wrestlers in each ‘series’ and it just kept being added on and on. This only meant spending more whenever we saw a wrestler that we liked. I know, I know. I feel extremely guilty especially since it wasn’t my money. However, it didn’t seem to matter back then.

Another thing to note would be the fact that my brother had his friends to play with but me, not so much. None of my friends played the game. So this further supports the fact that it was a waste of money. Anyway, as years passed, the whole craze died down both at home and around. While my brother didn’t have the time to play with me, shops stopped selling the booster packs because they weren’t popular. So my card album was left to rot in my cupboard with me occasionally looking through just for the fun of it. I would end up feeling guilty for obvious reasons. However, sometime last year or the previous year, during the holidays, I tried getting my cousins to play along with me. It worked for a couple of weeks. But then again, school started and we didn’t have time. Once again, the cards were left there to rot. UNTIL… A few days ago.

Thanks to Carousell, I found someone that was interested in buying some of the cards that I have. I found it strange since I thought no one was collecting or playing anymore. He told me that he plays with his friends and so I did some research. I stumbled upon a forum for players of the card game. It was a local forum to buy and sell cards. PERFECT. I looked through the list of cards the various users wanted to buy. And some of those cards, I had. So, I contacted them and made some deals and that’s pretty much what happened.

And earlier today, I made my first two sales! Was kind of fun and fulfilling. I’m not going to lie, I was nervous. These were cards that they could just snatch and run away with. But I’m glad that didn’t happen and I made some cash too! I’m going to try to sell up to a hundred dollars worth of cards so that I can clear what I have in the album as well as feel less guilty for having spent all that money.

SPOILER ALERT: I won’t be able to make up all the money I spent but some is better than none, right?

Anyway to wrap things up, I think card games are a great way to bond with anyone. Trust me, some of the memories I made with my brother while playing, I’ll never forget. Especially the times I acted a fool because I lost the game. For example, I lost playing as my favourite wrestler and so I decided to leave the room dramatically and watch some wrestling matches that my favourite wrestler won in, to make myself feel better. I KNOW. It’s absolutely silly. But it made sense back then. My brother then peeked his head into the room and I would go play another round with him still angry for losing but determined to beat him this time. Whether I did or not, I can’t remember. Sigh. I might try getting him to play another round with me when I see that he’s free. Let’s hope he does!

Before I sign off, here is the list of my classmates who are also participating in #LetterByLetter. Check out their blogs for their takes on each letter.

Vera

Chelsea

Nica

Shafna

Minyi

Alicia

Shiva

Jamie

Until next time,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

