#LetterByLetter: G

grow up

#LetterByLetter is something that me and my classmates who blog are doing during the holidays. We will go down the alphabet, one for each post and write what each letter means to us. It can be something symbolic or just a word that starts with that letter. The objective is to be active on our blogs and also to see who can finish all the letters first. This is the seventh post in the series.

For the letter ‘G’, I want to write about GROWING UP.

Sure, I’m only 18 this year and what do I know about growing up, right? Well what I do know is that it’s hard to stay optimistic about growing older and looking forward to all the ‘benefits’ that come along with it, when people make growing up sound like such a terrible and horrific thing about 90% of the time. You hear everyone saying how they don’t wish to grow older and that they want to stay young. I totally get that but I wish they don’t forget about the good things that come with growing up.

The big things like getting a full-time job doing what you’ve always wanted to do and being able to support yourself financially are just two of the many things to look forward to. At least as far as I’m concerned. I look forward to waking up everyday and going to work happily because I’ll be doing what I’ve always wanted to do. I know, I know… It probably won’t happen but just let me dream. I also look forward to splurging my salaries on luxury items without feeling guilty. Once again, I know I’ll definitely have other expenses to worry about but until then, I can imagine. And what about all those countries I want to visit? All the potential friends strangers out there that I’ve yet to meet? I’m not sure about you but those are some of the things that I’ve always looked forward to since I was a kid.

Now, I’m not oblivious to the ‘bad’ things that come along with growing up. I know it’s going to be more stressful, a lot busier and you become distant because you won’t have much time for friends and family with work taking over. But all these things are inevitable and they’re going to happen sooner or later. Hey, it’s already happening with school. How bad can it get with work when we’re older?

And of course, there is the big question on whether growing up means you have to be more mature. My stand? YES. You definitely have to be more mature with the way you act around and relate with others but when it’s time to let loose and relax, why not GO WILD?

It is true that with maturity we will begin to realise that it is not going to be all rainbows and butterflies. But that doesn’t automatically mean that growing up isn’t a terrible thing, does it? After all, a life without a little challenge will be boring and perfect that you won’t have a story to tell. Why can’t we look it that way instead of dreading the whole ‘growing up’ phase of our lives? Just something to think about,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

