Captain America: The Winter Soldier Review

maxresdefault

It’s been almost three months since I last wrote a movie review. I just haven’t been watching too many movies lately. Oh well, I’m back to review the Captain America sequel, Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

I must say I was skeptical because I hadn’t watched the second Thor movie and I was worried I might have missed something. To add to that, I don’t clearly remember what happened in The Avengers and the first Captain America movie. However, it was either this or Non-Stop and I was in the mood for a superhero movie. Having watched the movie, I believe it was pretty good.

So, here’s my review explaining why with NO SPOILERS.

The Story: If you hadn’t watched the first movie which was set in the 1940s, Captain America was frozen and asleep for 70 years and found himself awaken in modern day New York City. In this sequel, we see how he adapts to the modern setting while still working for S.H.I.E.L.D. He works alongside Agent Natasha Romanoff a.k.a Black Widow. During one of his missions, he begins to question whether he can actually trust S.H.I.E.LD. And when Nick Fury introduces Captain America to Operation: Insight where spy satellites are used to detect and eliminate potential threats, things only get worse. With access to the information on the operation being restricted and a mysterious assassin called, ‘The Winter Soldier’ on the loose, Captain America has to find a way to save the world before his allies are wiped out and the world goes into the hands of the wrong people.

But who can he really trust? Who exactly is this mysterious ‘Winter Soldier’? And how do you shut the operation down without having access to the information in the first place?

The Cast: Loved the casting. I mean everyone obviously fit their roles perfectly. ScarJo(Scarlett Johansson) who plays Black Widow, is so beautiful and I loved her acting. Yes, she was great in The Avengers but I think we get to see more of her in this movie. I might just be becoming a fan. As for Chris Evans as Captain America, he’s just perfect. I also recognise Emily VanCamp who plays S.H.I.E.L.D agent Sharon Carter, from Revenge. Although she has a minor role in this movie, I think they’re just setting her up for the third movie which I’m also pretty excited about. Like I really have nothing bad to say for the casting.

The Characters: If you haven’t figured from above, I LOVE Black Widow. I really liked how she was featured in this movie and I’m glad they didn’t go with the Captain America’s love interest route. The dynamic between Captain America and Black Widow is also pretty interesting. I love how they are almost like siblings. I’m looking forward to seeing how they relate to each other in the Avengers sequel. Now as for Captain America, I never really was a fan of his backstory but he’s definitely cool. I also like how they followed up with certain things revolving around him from the prequel in this movie. As for Captain America’s new sidekick, Sam Wilson, I think there was just sufficient character development. Lastly, The Winter Soldier is just amazing. I like his style and everything about him. I was hoping for more character development because they only revealed the identity quite late in the movie. But it all makes sense when you actually find out the identity of this mysterious assassin. Revealing the identity much earlier wouldn’t have made that big of a difference. I also looked up S.H.I.E.L.D Agent Sharon Carter’s identity on Wikipedia, and I must say I think she’ll definitely be featured more in the third movie. But I don’t want to spoil anything so, if you’re interested click here.

The End: The ending was pretty draggy and there seemed to be a lot going on. It might just be me but it seemed pretty easy too. I did like how to wrap things up, there were scenes of the aftermath. I mean there isn’t much I can say without ruining it for you so I shall just say that when watching it, I thought it was pretty satisfying but thinking back now, I think it could have been better.

My Rating: 7.5/10

I had a hard time choosing the rating because I felt conflicted. I couldn’t even decide if this or first one was better. The story might not be the easiest to understand from the get-go but it makes more sense halfway through the movie. The characters were really loveable and for me, that’s what makes me want to give the movie a high rating. Especially the duo of Captain America and Black Widow. They’re so cute together without being a couple! However, the ending was average. I definitely think you should watch the movie because almost every superhero movie is worth watching.

Until next time,

PEACE OUT.

One thought on “Captain America: The Winter Soldier Review

  1. Pingback: Captain America | Movie Sweet

Leave a Reply

