#LetterByLetter: I

mayafinal_1

#LetterByLetter is something that me and my classmates who blog are doing during the holidays. We will go down the alphabet, one for each post and write what each letter means to us. It can be something symbolic or just a word that starts with that letter. The objective is to be active on our blogs and also to see who can finish all the letters first. This is the ninth post in the series.

It took me sometime to think what ‘I’ stands for but as soon as I figured it out, everything seemed to just flow nicely. So, here we go, ‘I’ is for INSECURITIES.

We all have insecurities, don’t we? I’ll admit, I do. The popular kids at school probably do too. And even our favourite celebrities do even as superficial as they might be. Regardless, my point is, we aren’t always satisfied with the way we look or the way we act. Sometimes we can change the things about ourselves that bother us. Other times, you just can’t as much as you try.

As for me, I’m a pretty open book but when it comes to my insecurities, I hate talking about them and I really don’t know why. Not even my closest friends know what they are because I haven’t shared with them. Maybe I just have never seen it as a conversation topic or maybe I’m just not open to discussing my insecurities, period. However, I do believe you will be able to tell my insecurities by just looking at me. If you can’t, then keep guessing. This post isn’t about my sob-story but let me just say I haven’t always heard the best things about myself and the way I look, growing up. So yes, I’ll gladly admit that I do have my fair share of insecurities and that they have gotten me down before… Plenty of times… And they still do… Every now and then.

But I have noticed that people rarely associate insecurities with boys and men. And that makes me wonder if there’s something wrong with me for feeling insecure. Sure, maybe guys don’t admit their insecurities because it affects their ego by making them look weak. However, in my opinion, although our insecurities might hold us back at times, they definitely make us human. And I wish everyone realised that because hey, it took me some time to realise that myself.

Now, I’m not trying to glorify insecurities and saying that we all need to have insecurities. I’m just saying that chances are, everyone already has their fair share and we should remember that the next time we feel like we are all alone. Because while we’re worrying about the way we look, there are people out there without food to eat or a bed to sleep on.

That’s pretty much what I have to say for this letter. Before I sign off, here is the list of my classmates who are also participating in #LetterByLetter. Check out their blogs for their takes on each letter.

Vera

Chelsea

Nica

Shafna

Minyi

Alicia

Shiva

Jamie

Dalene

Until next time,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

