“And yes, I know…

“And yes, I know we all love each other but the fact is the glue that holds high school friendships together is high school. Being around each other everyday, seeing each other in the halls, whenever something is up we don’t have to do any work to talk to our friends about it; they’re right there. As soon as it takes effort, we get lazy and then we forget and then we just move on. I don’t want to fade away.”

– Tina Cohen Chang (Glee)

Last week, I saw lots of students graduating and it once again got me thinking about how much time I have left with my friends and classmates. I mean sure, they get on my nerves sometimes and I’m sure I piss them off too but at the end of the day, I would choose the people I currently spend my school days with over the people I used to.

Secondary school was hell. I didn’t really have a voice. I didn’t really have friends that I could hug just because I want to. I didn’t feel like I belonged anywhere. I honestly was a wallflower. Just sitting pretty and trying to stay out of things. And when I did get involved, things just didn’t go the right way. I don’t think most people liked me but my best friend from secondary school says that it was the other way around. He told me that I just hated everyone. Obviously, I would agree to disagree on that one because it doesn’t make sense. Why would I go around hating people if they didn’t give me a reason to, right? Anyway, that’s a different story and I don’t really want to get into details. The point is, I don’t miss secondary school at all. I still keep in contact with the handful of friends that matter to me. It’s not as easy as it used to be but whenever we meet it’s like no time passed at all.

But when you talk about where I am now, I really think I’m going to miss these people. I’m just worried that after we graduate we just all won’t keep in touch anymore. It’s premature worrying, I know. We’ve still got another one and a half to two years to go. As of right now, we are all pretty bonded but who knows what’s going to happen before and after we graduate.

It’s just one of those things where you can only hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

