(Ouch!) Did Those Slaps Hurt?

Image

I’ve been meaning to blog for the longest time but two things have been stopping me. Firstly, I had and still have a lot of things to do. I hate to admit it, but procrastination is becoming a friend and I really want to kill that bitch. Secondly, every time I think about writing a blog post, I think about how I’m going to phrase everything I have to say and then… It just puts me off. There’s so much going on in my head. So, let me try to get it out there the best way I know how.

I would really love to blog a whole post about Japan. I initially had plans to describe everything I saw, all the places I visited and really go in-depth. But like I said I just don’t have the time so I’m gonna have to sum it all up in these couple of paragraphs.

Japan was awesome for many reasons. Of course there’s the obvious reason that it was a trip that I got to go on with my friends and we got to bond. Like all events, it also brought on an opportunity for me to make new friends and I sure as hell did. There were also quite a number of interesting events that occurred to the best of us. From oversleeping and causing panic to tearful phobias to the classic lost item feat. The lost item feat was something that happened to me on the last day as well, when I ‘lost’ my passport. I emptied my backpack but it wasn’t there. I walked out to check my luggage already thinking about how I’m going to find it when I had to squeeze my luggage shut. But luckily, Shafna ran out and said that she found my passport in my bag. Yes, I know what you’re thinking but I really did empty my bag. How could I have missed it right? I was just relieved that my passport had been found.

Anyway, there was this amazing home stay with the Sumiyoshi family. They went out of their way for me and my home stay partner, Colin. On the last night of the home stay, we played with fire crackers which reminded me of Deepavali. It was something my cousins and I would play with but now that everyone is older, it’s just not the same anymore. My point is that it reminded me of the good times. Funny how I had to go all the way to Japan to be reminded of those times. At least I got to recreate them and I’m really appreciative of everything the family has done for me and Colin. So, that’s a wrap on Japan. For pictures, you can check the Instagram side bar below.

Now, I should move on to the things that have been bothering me. As you can tell from the title of this post, I’ve been receiving many slaps to the face lately. Not literally. Well, maybe one literal one. I believe I’ve gotten over that one. It was from a good friend of mine and I’ll be fine as long as she doesn’t EVER do it again. But I never expected the metaphorical slaps to the face to be the ones that hurt the most. And on top of that, they are all from the same person.

I’ve come to realise that I suck at giving advice cause of my lack in experience and that I just “don’t know what to say”. “You’re there to listen, she’s there to advice,” is what I’ve been told. Isn’t it true, though? Which is why, I’m just going to listen and not say much from now on. That’s all I seem to be good for anyway. Other than for updates and information on assignments and homework, what else do I bring to table?

Hint: It starts with a ‘no’ and ends with ‘thing’.

All that… From one person and damn, it hurts. I’m not saying that everything mentioned above was what was said. Just the quoted parts and rest was my own inference. I guess that’s the problem that comes with wearing your heart on your sleeve. You get too attached to people that never wanted you attached to them in the first place. And being there for someone that doesn’t want you to be there for them is one of the most hurtful things you can experience, in my opinion.

I honestly feel better to have gotten everything out there. Here’s to hoping for a better tomorrow,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

