“We all spend so much time not saying what we want…

a-long-way-down

“We all spend so much time not saying what we want, because we know we can’t have it. And because it sounds ungracious, or ungrateful, or disloyal, or childish, or banal. Or because we’re so desperate to pretend that things are OK, really, that confessing to ourselves they’re not looks like a bad move. Go on, say what you want. … Whatever it is, say it to yourself. The truth will set you free. Either that or it’ll get you a punch in the nose. Surviving in whatever life you’re living means lying, and lying corrodes the soul, so take a break from the lies for just one minute.”

― Nick HornbyA Long Way Down

“When you’re unhappy, I guess everything in the world – reading, eating, sleeping – has something buried somewhere inside it that just makes you unhappier.”

― Nick HornbyA Long Way Down

“Everyone knows how to talk, and no one knows what to say.”

― Nick HornbyA Long Way Down

I just finished this book that I bought back in March. It has been lying in my bookshelf since, staring at me every time I look in the direction of the bookshelf. But I finally got to reading this some time last week and I finished it today. It’s definitely one of my favourite books.

A short synopsis of the book would be, four strangers who are all leading miserable lives in their own eyes meet each other on the roof of a building on the night of New Year’s Eve; the night they plan to jump off a building and end it all. However, after getting to know each other, they realise that they might just be able to get through their problems together. But as we all know with four very different personalities, there is conflict, laughs and many emotional moments which makes for a good read.

The writing is amazing. The characters are equal amounts compelling and loveable. I never once felt like reading the book was a chore. Now, I can’t wait to watch the movie. I would honestly recommend it to anyone. I just posted some of the many quotes I thought were relatable and meaningful from the book.

With that being said, do let me know what you think if you end up giving the book a try. It will not disappoint, trust me.

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

