An Eventful Beginning Pt. 1

We’re halfway through the fifth week since the new school semester started and I feel that it’s been pretty eventful beginning to the semester thus far. I also haven’t written a Daily Life post in a really long time and so I thought why not write one now while I’m free. To be honest, I don’t exactly remember what happened each week but I have the pictures in my phone to remind me! So let’s go in chronological order.

Week 1

image

A back-to-school selfie

I was kinda excited to be back in school because it was a new semester which means new modules (and one new lecturer). Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy the holidays but I also did miss being around my classmates and friends and the whole feel of ‘school’.

A rare family selfie.

A rare family selfie.

This was also the Deepavali week. So, on Wednesday, I was supposed to gather with my Mother’s side relatives and cousins. From experience I knew better than to get too excited about gathering with my cousins because that only leaves room for disappointment. And hey, I ended up being right. Let’s just say it made me think if blood was really thicker than water.

Minyi and I attempted to take an #OOTD but I just didn't know how to pose in a not pretentious way.

Minyi and I attempted to take an #OOTD but I just didn’t know how to pose in a not pretentious way.

So, why not just i stand there and Minyi do the posing... Right?

So, why not just I stand there and Minyi do the posing… Right?

The next day, there was school again but Minyi, Shafna, Jamie and I had plans to film a ‘Fashion Challenge’(click for the link) for our youtube channel after class. We got Dalene and Huszainy to join us as our ‘Camera crew’. Nica and Vera were the models and Jesleen tagged along for moral support. There was a lot of competitiveness, mainly because of me but it all turned out alright. It was fun and I can’t wait to look back at all the videos on the youtube channel in a few years time and laugh and cringe in equal measure.

Popcorn: Check Cotton Candy: Check

Popcorn: Check
Cotton Candy: Check

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 11.15.29 pm

More than one selfie: Check

On Friday, it was pretty normal except for the carnival in school which Jamie, Shafna and I attended. We got some free popcorn and cotton candy and even some ice-cream. Later that day, I had invited my best friends from secondary school over for dinner at my place. I had intended to play a game of Monopoly but we didn’t have much time because we had to leave for a movie soon. So, we left to catch the movie, “Lets Be Cops” and it was pretty good (and I wrote a movie review too).

We are all smiles here but that changed the more we got into the game.

We are all smiles here but that changed the more we got into the game.

Then came Saturday, where I had invited my Poly friends over for lunch. But about half of them couldn’t make it. So, it was just Huszainy, Shafna, Chelsea, Vera and Jamie. I was nervous having them over for the first time. I was also anxious because I rarely have friends over. I don’t really like to mix the two different worlds of family and friends. Anyway, it was fun because we got to play Monopoly! The game was intense and I enjoyed it. It reminded me of when I used to play Monopoly with my cousins during our gatherings. So, in a way it helped complete my Deepavali.

Cousins <3

Cousins ❤

After they all left, my brother, Dad and I had some visiting to do. This time it was my Father’s side relatives and cousins. It was way better than I expected. My cousins and I took some pictures together and it was nice catching up with them because I rarely see them these days. We headed back home after about an hour or so. I had no regrets going. (I’m just realising as I typed this that the first week was way more eventful that I had thought and remembered. )

Week 2

I thought that Shantel and I debuting our 'Froot Loop Dingus' shirts was worth an honourable mention.

I thought that Shantel and I debuting our ‘Froot Loop Dingus’ shirts was worth an honourable mention.

The highlights of this week were the CASS Halloween Party and Writers Festival.

Dressing up as 'A' was quite exciting but extremely warm too. I sweat a whole lot.

Dressing up as ‘A’ was quite exciting but extremely warm too. I sweat a whole lot.

I didn’t really have much to do with the planning of the Halloween party but during the event I guess I was pretty involved. I had to mend the game booths and also keep people from eating the food before it was all ready. And let me just say that the second task was not as easy as it sounds. Anyway, one of the good things about Halloween are the costumes! So, it was nice seeing what everyone attending the party came dressed in. Personally, the most memorable ones were the Ninja Turtle costumes. As for me, I dressed up as ‘A’ from Pretty Little Liars together with Xenia and Ili (It was my idea but whatever).

A selfie with everyone who attended the Writers Fest.

A selfie with everyone who attended the Writers Fest.

It looks sooooo pretty.

It looks sooooo pretty.

Later that week, there was the Writers Festival. I didn’t attend it last year, I can’t remember why. It’s either because I wasn’t interested or had something else on. But this year, there was a panel with local writers about how they published their first book. So that was interesting. I took down some quotes that might come in handy in the future to inspire or to motivate myself.

We paid our volunteer friend a visit too.

We paid our volunteer friend a visit too.

Shafna and I also attended the screening of the documentary, Girl Rising. We had some trouble getting to the location and ended up pretty late. So we had to sit at the front row and it was a pretty uncomfortable row to be sitting in. Oh well… The Writers Festival was also interesting because someone who I wasn’t expecting to see at all showed up. You should know how that works… You expect something and it doesn’t happen. You don’t expect it and it happens. Trust me, it felt so scripted. Sometimes I wonder if my life is a sitcom or a reality show. Maybe it’s a mixture of both. Is that possible?

I still have another two and a half weeks to write about(or three weeks by the time I come around to writing it). So stay tuned!

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

