There’s A Lot Going On

Vacation-3

It’s been slightly over a month since my last post. I have been meaning to write for quite some time now but I just never seemed to have the motivation nor energy to do so. I decided to take some time to write a post now before I procrastinate and it becomes June and I would have ended my ‘at least one post a month’ streak.

The past four weeks of school have been pretty draining. There is almost always something to do at any point of time. Things are also pretty unpredictable. One moment everything is fine and the next, things go wrong and vice versa. So, I am counting my blessings and reminding myself to take one step at a time. I would reflect on the past four weeks in further detail but not THAT much has happened to be honest. It’s mostly a lot to do with school. Looking at my photo gallery, there are like about four key events that I think I should highlight.

Firstly, FYP groupings. There was a whole lot of speculation as to who would end up where. It had been a conversation topic since last semester. I was pretty excited yet anxious at the same time – there was something about the unpredictability of the situation that made it very thrilling for me. But I am definitely glad that the paranoia of the selection process is over. Now, let’s just hope that the rest of the journey will be a smooth ride.

Secondly, it was the day of the DTVM Party and movie excursion. It was our last DTVM party and I remember Alicia reminding me of that when I didn’t want to join in the singing/lip syncing that was going on. I actually even hid at the back so no one could drag me in. I am not a fan of making a fool of myself against my will. Later, as part of a film excursion we watched The 100 Year-Old Man which I thought was a great movie. It was really funny but towards the end it felt a bit draggy that I was hoping it would just end already. Although it was a Friday and it would have been nice to hang around town, I just wanted to head home to get some rest because I knew I had work to do over the weekend.

Thank you to the person who took this picture and made me feel beautiful.

Thank you to the person who took this picture and made me feel beautiful.

I like how Ms Mary appeared out of nowhere.

I like how Ms Mary appeared out of nowhere.

Here's another group selfie with Nica and Jes in it too.

Here’s another group selfie with Nica and Jes in it too.

Why watch a movie at a cinema without popcorn, right?

Why watch a movie at a cinema without popcorn, right?

Thirdly, the seniors’ graduation. I had my mind set on heading home straight after class to work on the assignment that was due the next day in my own time but I was convinced by Chels and Shaf to stay on for the graduation. We didn’t actually get to enter the hall the graduation ceremony was taking place at. Instead we were watching a LIVE stream that was being shown at the auditorium. It felt like I was watching a documentary and I think I said it a couple of times but no one probably understood what I was saying. Even I can’t justify nor explain what I meant by that but I still stand by it. I guess it was pretty fun watching familiar faces walk on stage. Later, we waited around to take pictures with our seniors. At some points, we were just hanging around doing nothing. After I took almost all the pictures I wanted, I was ready to go. So when Shaf left, me and Chels decided to leave too. I don’t know what it was about taking pictures with the seniors or talking to them that made me feel no regrets for staying back longer. With that being said, I reached home later than expected and stayed up later than I wanted to, making final edits and finishing up the assignment that was due in 12 hours. (I took so many pictures that I am just posting the two selfies that I think look the best along with a picture that was taken with Kirt’s DSLR)

Lyn's been there since our first day of school. Woah.

Lyn’s been there since our first day of school and now she has graduated… Woah.

I only really got to know Ilene quite recently. She's hilarious.

I only really got to know Ilene quite recently. She’s hilarious.

I love this picture. We should all just carry a DSLR around.

I love this picture with Kirt. We should all just carry a DSLR around.

Lastly, one of the recent events that I should highlight is my FYP group’s unofficial group bonding day. We signed up for The Hidden Good‘s MP3 Experiment trailer filming. We just wanted to get a behind-the-scenes look at how they were going to film it. We had to visit 10 locations and do strange things in public as part of a flash mob. That day, I woke up 30 minutes late having underestimated the time it would take to get to Farrer Park MRT. I had to take a cab and that was a waste of money. The filming was also pretty tiring because of the heat and all I wanted to do was laze at home. However, my group helped keep me entertained. From Dalene taking pictures and laughing at stupid things to Chels’ weather report and Wesley’s riddles, I think we were occupied with things to do at different points. We also got really good photos of all of us from this day, thanks to Dalene. I would say spending a whole Sunday out wasn’t really my cup of tea but I had no regrets because I think we might have just benefitted from the day in more ways than one. Only time will tell.

I think I am getting at taking group selfies.

I think I am getting at taking group selfies.

Pretty proud of this picture I took. Felt pretty fascinated by the coke cans too.

Pretty proud of this picture I took. Felt pretty fascinated by the coke cans too.

From our second last stop of the day at East Coast Park.

A picture from our second last stop of the day at East Coast Park.

I can’t believe that the supposed three week break starts next Saturday. Time has really passed by really fast. I guess I am looking forward to the break but I am not exactly sure how I feel about the Ipoh trip that is coming up in the first week of that break. It should be fun and exciting but my worry wart tendencies are kicking in. I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

Until next time,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

