Here’s What You Missed Pt. 1

These pictures didn't turn out good but they look good against that background so...

I’m here ready to recap the past month based on what I remember and what has been documented on my Twitter account. I would usually look at my photo gallery on my phone but I formatted my phone a few weeks ago and lost about a month worth of pictures and texts. I’ll tell you more about that later but let me bring you back to the last day of the first school term, 29th May.

29th of May was the day Dolph Ziggler, a professional wrestler from WWE was coming down to Singapore for a meet and greet and also to promote the WWE Live show in Singapore (which is one week away, on the 2nd of July and I’ve got my ticket already, by the way). However, the catch was that only the first 100 Starhub customers and a couple of other early birds (if I’m not wrong) would be able to meet and greet Ziggler. The rest of the people at the event would just watch as Ziggler answered questions and spoke to the audience for a bit.

I had been anticipating that day for quite some time, in hopes of being able to meet a WWE wrestler and crossing that off my long list of childhood dreams. Things were looking up given how my class that day was supposed to end at 12pm and the meet and greet was at 7pm. That meant that I had enough time to get there and queue up to be the first 100. BUT on the 29th of May, instead of the usual 9am-12pm class, we had a special out-of-class activity from 2-5pm. It was an Amazing Race bonding activity and on the way to School of the Arts (SOTA), the meeting place for the race, Angela who I was supposed to attend the meet and greet with was already in queue and she informed me that there were about 50 people in front of her. Add to that the fact that my teammate printing the group assignment due that day, was facing trouble with printing, I was pretty down. The printing problem got resolved soon enough but I still remained pretty bitter and upset about the meet and greet.

I put on my game face for the bonding activity but since it was not about speed but rather creativity, it was not as exciting and thrilling as it could have been. However, by the end of the activity, my group felt more bonded and so I guess that’s what mattered. After we were dismissed, I considered skipping the meet and greet because it would feel like a slap to the face seeing the lucky people go up on stage and meet Ziggler while I just stood there watching. However, since I had nothing else to do then and Hus was going regardless, I decided to just go ahead with the original plan.

5/7 of the team.

5/7 of the team. Jes was sick and Bernice was walking ahead.

5/7 of the team... Again. This time, Bernice left early for debate.

5/7 of the team… Again. This time, Bernice left early for debate.

The meet and greet was fun. Ziggler showed up late which I thought was strange but it was fun watching fans imitate Ziggler’s entrance (an ‘entrance’ is how a wrestler walks to the ring) as part of a competition of who does it best. Rishi and Nadiah joined us soon enough and we laughed at the contestants together. When it was time to for the meet and greet, the four of us just stood there watching and waiting for Angela to walk on stage. I must say that it was pretty entertaining watching Ziggler interact with his fans. He sure must have felt tired of signing all those pictures and having to put on a smile for every fan he met. It made me respect WWE Superstars and Divas a lot more though. Ziggler’s bodyguard was also pretty cool. Whenever Ziggler hugged a fan, he would have a really tiny smile. I guess he had to keep the fierce look to tell people to get off stage when they were taking too long. When Angela joined us, I was honestly pretty happy for her. The two of us, along with Girwina are attending the LIVE show next week together. So, hopefully that will be fun and somehow, someway, my dream will be fulfilled then. Once it was confirmed that the meet and greet would not open for more people to join, Rishi and I left.

This is the only picture I have access to after formatting my phone. And I only have it because Angela tagged me in it on Facebook... Sigh.

This is the only picture I have access to after formatting my phone. And I only have it because Angela tagged me in it on Facebook… Sigh.

Here's a stolen picture of Dolph Ziggler at the event.

Here’s a stolen picture of Dolph Ziggler at the event. (Credit: The Urban Wire)

Here's another stolen picture, just so you know what he looks like.

Here’s another stolen picture, just so you know what he looks like. (Credit: The Straits Times)

I thought I was going home but Rishi was meeting Jasper and Shan Yi. I decided to tag along since they didn’t mind. They were going around looking for dresses as part of work. It was fun searching for a particular type of dress with them. We ended the day at Coffee Bean where we had fries and drinks. Later, Jasper returned to work while the rest of us travelled home.

On to the next topic, the MPH book fair that I attended with Jamie, Chels and Shaf at Expo on the 5th of June. I’ve always loved book fairs because it’s nice to be surrounded by books. Sure, it makes me feel guilty by reminding me of all the books I have in my shelve, unread but it is still pretty fun anyway. I usually attended these book fairs with my parents so it was refreshing attending this one with the girls. I suggested the idea to them and they were on board. We walked around laughing at book titles and I’m sure we all had some book in mind that we were hoping to find. I was hoping to find any one of the two Andy Cohen books, the final book in the DRAMA! series or even Perks of being a wallflower since I loved the book but never owned a copy of it. But in the end, I walked out with two graphic novels and the third and final book in Lauren Conrad’s Fame Game series. I was glad that the girls each got at least one book too so it wasn’t a wasted trip.

After the book fair, we had dinner at Texas Chicken at Changi City Point. It was my first time trying Texas Chicken and it was pretty good. We waited forever for Shaf to come back with her food that the rest of us were trying really hard not to start eating first. The conversations we had were a good mix of funny and thought-provoking. At some points, I looked around wondering if anyone was listening because we were talking about really strange things. After sitting there for about an hour, we all left for home. I can’t wait for the next meal that we have together.

Thanks for being great company. <3

Thanks for being great company.

A day later, on the 6th of June, I met with Rosydi and Azfar. It was a Saturday and I love spending my weekends at home but since there was no school the next day, I didn’t really mind. Plus, Azfar is in NS now so he only has his weekends free and we need to fit his schedule if we were meeting up. The plan was to watch a movie and have dinner together. So, we watched Spy – a really entertaining movie – and had dinner at Pastamania. It was a pretty good day.

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 10.47.38 pm

A selfie at the usual spot at Somerset because of the perfect lighting.

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 10.47.48 pm

Notice how Azfar is bald?

Whenever I meet up with the dudes, I remember not to worry about drifting apart from the people who are important to me post-graduation in Poly. They remind me that if people care enough about each other, they would make time for each other and find a way to remain in each other’s lives no matter how busy and difficult life gets.

I think this is a good place to end the first instalment in the “Here’s What You Missed” chronicles. I would continue writing but this post is already pretty long and I have a whole lot more to write about. I have to fill you in on the school trip to Ipoh and everything that has happened since I came back. I’ll save that for tomorrow. Stay tuned!

PEACE OUT.

P.S: If you feel like there are lesser pictures in this post, you are right. If only I had not formatted my phone.

Leave a Reply

