Here’s What You Missed Pt. 2

850512497_12573030757149905494

Let me go straight into this post.

The evening before Day 1 in Ipoh, I was charging my phone with my laptop when iTunes told me there was some syncing error. I don’t even remember what I was trying to sync… If anything at all. It told me to format my phone and I was hesitant to do so. I tried restarting my phone but it still couldn’t sync so I was left with no choice when I decided to format it not realising that my last back up was a month ago. When my phone was done formatting, I lost one month worth of texts and photos. It felt like I time traveled a month back. I feel a little stupid for formatting it especially since I don’t think I was trying to sync anything in the first place. iTunes just popped up when I plugged in my phone and for some reason I decided to listen to it when it told me to format my phone. Sigh…

Anyway, let’s move on to Ipoh. I was nervous for the trip. I have mentioned in previous posts that I am not a fan of camps. But after the briefing I realised that this wasn’t really a camp. We were sleeping in hotels and we were going on the trip with people we already knew. It was more of a work trip. We just had to find someone interesting to film a short documentary about in two days and that was what I should be worrying about – not the living arrangements.

I had a good team. I was pretty confident we could get things done as long as we stayed focus. My main worry was that we might lose our patience with each other when things were going wrong. I also felt some pressure having to be the ‘team leader’ which is another way of saying that I was responsible for anything that went wrong. By the time we were all at the airport, my nerves were gone and I was more excited than anything.

Day 1 in Ipoh was tiring. My team split up into three groups and walked around talking to people, hoping to find someone interesting or someone that could lead us to someone interesting. I was with Jeremiah and we didn’t have much luck. However, the other two groups each found someone that could be a potential profile: a man that sells sugarcane juice and an elderly woman who owns a small snack shop. We also learned that there was a dangerous area near where the sugarcane man lived that we should avoid. We ended our day leaning towards choosing the sugarcane man as our profile but we wanted to find out more about both profiles.

This is one of my favourite pictures. I'm getting good at this selfie thing, eh?

This is one of my favourite pictures. I’m getting good at this selfie thing, eh?

This is us waiting for lunch.

This is us waiting for lunch.

Day 2 was a little demoralising. We were supposed to start filming but there was still a lot that was unconfirmed and a lot of information we had not received yet. We split up into two and then three. And we learnt that both our potential profiles were living at the same row of blocks. So, we thought maybe we could focus on the location instead of their individual stories. We spent the rest of the day after lunch, filming both potential profiles and trying to dig up as much information as possible. By the time my half of the group returned to the hotel, I was pretty down. I felt we hadn’t made much progress and I felt pressure to make things work especially as the ‘team leader’. However, while using my phone, I found a quote that I took down from Lauren Conrad’s Infamous and it made me feel a little better.

“Do not feel pressure. Pressure is for when you have to do something you aren’t prepared to do. But you are prepared for this. Now let’s kick some butt, all right?”

– Todd Barrows (Infamous, Fame Game Series)

As I returned to my group for dinner, I felt more positive and I knew we had to find a way to make it work. Our shoot script was due tomorrow morning which meant we needed to figure out what exactly our story was and what we were going to film. We decided on going ahead with the snack shop lady as our profile but we were struggling to come up with sequences to film. We were up ’til 12 trying to get out shoot script done and so were the other groups. I was feeling sleepy as we reached the end of our script but I was happy with the end product. Once we checked everything, I left and I believe only Vera and Siti were double checking the script and thinking of some extra shots we could film the next day. Things seemed to be looking up, huh?

I think this was taken on Night 2.

I think this was taken on Night 2.

Day 3 in Ipoh was pretty fun. I forgot to mention that the snack shop lady lives right next to the dangerous area we were told to avoid on Day 1. And we needed to film her at home. So, Ms Mary helped us rent a car and driver to drive us down there and it was pretty thrilling. I stayed in the car for the most part because I wouldn’t have anything to do if I was standing around outside anyway. The rest of the day was filled with us filming everything we needed and by the end of it, we were pretty satisfied with how everything worked out. There was a sort of a bonding activity on Night 3 for everyone regardless of group and class. I was expecting to cry based on stories I’ve heard but it turned out to be more funny than emotional.

Rushing to get the shot.

Rushing to get the shot.

Filming interviews on Day 3.

Filming interviews on Day 3.

Here's a picture that we took with our profile.

Here’s a picture that we took with our profile.

Day 4 was the last day and that alone made it a good day because I couldn’t wait to get home. It was very chill. We performed a skit for some primary school students, toured a resort and had a great lunch there. And soon we were off to the airport, on the plane and back in Singapore. I really appreciate all the effort that the lecturers put into organising the trip and taking care of us. We have the best lecturers at DTVM, I swear. However, I was and I still am very glad that this trip is over. Now, my team and I just have to put the pieces together in the editing room and hope that the end product is everything we wanted it to be. It’s not going to be easy but we’ll get there.

Messy table but good food and company.

Messy table but good food and company.

Love this picture and love these people.

Love this picture and love these people.

The A-Team on Day 4.

The A-Team on Day 4. I’m really proud of us.

I spent the weekend back from Ipoh catching up on my shows and also writing memory bag letters for my friends. The memory bag was introduced on Night 3 in Ipoh. It’s basically a bag that you receive right before internship. When you’re feeling low, you open the bag and read the letters to make you feel better. So, I used the letters to remind people of how great they really are while at the same time giving a little piece of advice. Hopefully, my letters will put a smile on their face when read. And I hope I received some good letters too.

A picture from my letter writing workshop.

A picture from my letter writing workshop.

Now, let’s see what else I have been up to. Last Wednesday, I spent with a few people from Rojakrew. I wish everyone could make it but we still had fun so I guess that’s good enough. It was a pretty fun day because we bowled, we played pool, we played Kinect and we walked around Toys ‘R’ Us. Fulfilling for me at least. Last Friday, I watched Jurassic World with the girls. It had a easy storyline to follow so I appreciated that cause I didn’t have to think much and I didn’t want to either. I got a haircut and re-highlighted my hair. I love how it looks now. Yay me! I just realised I haven’t taken a selfie since. Yesterday, Chels and I went to HMV where XZ is working. I have always loved HMV. The environment where you are surrounded by thousands of albums and movies is just perfect. And to make things even more perfect, I was haunted by MIKA’s latest album, in a good way. I saw his album at four different locations in the same store. And about 15 minutes after we walked in, the entire album started playing too. So, I decided to stay ’til the album ended. I found a couple of seemingly interesting movies to check out in the meantime.

Inspired by SEA Games athletes, Jamie came in wanting to win but she didn't.

Inspired by SEA Games athletes, Jamie came in wanting to win but she didn’t.

Jamie did pretty well riding the boat though. She's a natural.

Jamie did pretty well riding the boat though. She’s a natural.

Watched Jurassic World with these people.

Watched Jurassic World with these people.

Shaf left early but I still wanted a selfie at the spot with great lighting.

Shaf left early but I still wanted a selfie at the spot with great lighting.

After one week of my holidays was spent in Ipoh, I had two weeks left. And now it’s already the Friday before school reopens and I’m left with just the weekend. I was hoping to spend the bulk of my holidays at home, watching shows and chilling but obviously that’s now how it turned out. There were group meetings every other day and a lot of time was spent on assignments and not at home. I’ve honestly come to appreciate my stay-home days. It’s a little tough accepting the fact that I don’t get as many off-days anymore but I do know that it’s only going to get tougher over the next eight weeks. However, we’ve already completed five assignments in the first term and we’re left with just another ten. Fingers crossed that I don’t go crazy over the next eight weeks.

PEACE OUT.

Leave a Reply

