2 Guns Review

2_guns_movie-wide

This movie was a last minute choice and I didn’t even watch the trailer before deciding on this movie. But when the movies currently showing aren’t that appealing or are rated M18, we didn’t have much of a choice. With that being said, I must say I’m glad I watched the movie cause it was something different and there were some really funny moments although it’s an action/adventure movie.

So here is my review with NO SPOILERS.

The Story: I’ll admit it wasn’t that easy figuring out the plot but it could be just me. However from what I understood, our two heroes are undercover officers(who are undercover as criminals) are after a drug lord, Papi Greco’s money for different reasons. Robert Trench(Denzel Washington) who is a Drug Enforcement Administration(DEA) agent is instructed by his superior to claim the money so that it can be used as evidence to convict Greco. While Michael Stigman(Mark Wahlberg) who is from the Navy is instructed by his commanding officer to not only steal the money but also kill Trench so that the money can be used as funds for covert operations.

Neither of our two heroes know the real reason why the other is after the money. They both believe it’s for their own gain. So what happens once they’ve gotten the money? Will they trust each other and continue working together or will they turn on each other? And ultimately, who gets the money in the end? I’ll just say that it’s very interesting how everything plays out.

The Cast: Although I read somewhere that it’s an all-star cast, the only cast member I know is James Marsden, who plays Harold Quince(Michael Stigman’s commanding officer). And it’s only cause he played my once favourite superhero Cyclops in the X-Men movie series and also acted in Enchanted. I’m sure he’s acted in many other movies but those are the ones I remember him from. I must say that he can play both heroes and villains really well! As for the main characters, I might not have seen them in any other movie but I’m sure I’ve seen their names around. They were a great duo. I think that Denzel Washington suited his role really well but I’m not so sure about Mark Wahlberg. At first I thought he definitely should not have been casted for his role but around the mid portion of the movie, I changed my mind. It’s not that he didn’t suit his role but I feel like other actors could have played the role just as well. However, I just don’t know who these ‘actors’, that I’m referring to, are. As for the rest of the cast, I don’t really have much to say.

The Characters: Our two heroes have such an interesting dynamic. When have you actually seen two heroes who are a team but they actually have their own best interests at heart? It might have been done before but it’s the first time I’ve seen this and it was something fresh and different about this movie. The dynamic also wasn’t the usual hero and sidekick one. Neither of them had a lesser role as the hero than the other. They both provided comic relief and for once(?), they didn’t exactly have to be total opposites to do that. I’m satisfied with both the main characters that I really hope there’s a sequel cause I WANT to see the duo in action again. The only issue I have with the characters is how the drug lord is from Mexico and it gives the whole ‘mafia’ vibe. I rather they be cliché and make the villain a wealthy businessman in the city.

The End: I LOVED the ending. I’m not sure if it was meant to be funny but in my opinion it was funny and interesting. I really do think that they can make a sequel without spoiling the success and/or flow of the first movie. I hope that plans for a sequel are announced. The plot might not necessarily be the best but the main characters make an awesome duo and I want to see more of them.

My Rating: 7.5/10

The movie gave me the Fast & Furious vibe just without the fast and furious cars and that would be the reason why I rated it higher than F&F6. I enjoyed the movie and thought it was something fresh but not something entirely different. It’s still worth watching this amazing duo in action though!

Till next time,

PEACE OUT.

Leave a comment