Sam & Cat Review

Image

Sam Puckett(Jennette McCurdy) & Cat Valentine(Ariana Grande)

Since the “Victorious” & “iCarly” era of Nickelodeon was coming to an end, I had been looking forward to this show, from when I first heard about it.  It was so unlikely of Nick to produce such a spin-off, of not one but two different shows.(A crossover spin-off) I was excited to see how it would all play out.

Then after watching the trailer, my excitement died down. The show seemed too crazy and nonsensical. With some parts being exaggerated and forced for the comedic factor.(Which I wasn’t a fan of) But having watched the first episode, I have to say it isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In fact, it’s pretty good.

If you haven’t watched both “Victorious” & “iCarly”, well Sam(iCarly) is the rebellious & tough girl while Cat(Victorious) is the ditzy & innocent girl. So since they are opposites, I guess Nick felt like that would form a great dynamic for a new show and that’s how you get “Sam & Cat”.  (GENIUS)

The pilot basically shows how Sam & Cat meet and also their motivation or reasoning for starting up a baby-sitting business.

Like expected, there was some silly moments, like when Cat gets tossed into a garbage truck & the kids they have to babysit driving a motor vehicle around. But I guess these silly moments contribute to the comedy so it’s fine.

However, I expected Sam to be meaner to Cat for some comedic moments, since she’s the “tough girl” who(in my opinion) won’t and can’t stand Cat’s ditzy-ness. But that wasn’t the case. So I felt a little cheated.

But all in all, “Sam & Cat” is a good show that is worth watching. Will definitely make up for the ending of the popular shows such as “Victorious” & “iCarly”. So I do hope that Nick takes the show in the right direction.

I definitely want to see the cast of “Victorious” & “iCarly” making special guest appearances. And hopefully, a consistency in the storyline of the show despite all the crazy and silly parts.

That’s all I have to say for this review.

PEACE OUT.

One thought on “Sam & Cat Review

  1. Pingback: TV Reviews: Sam and Cat / Naked and Afraid | Geek Alabama

Leave a comment